Forever Home Training School provides training programs to become a Certified Home Health Aide (CHHA). As a Home Health Aide in NJ you can have very flexible work schedules. Our program is approved by the New Jersey Board of Nursing.
Home Health Aides help people with disabilities, chronic illness, or cognitive impairment. They often help older adults who need assistance. Employment of home health aides is projected to grow 38 percent from 2014 to 2024, much faster than the average for all occupations. As the baby-boom population ages and the elderly population grows, demand for the services of home health aides to provide assistance will continue to increase.
With a Certified Home Health Aide license, you may find employment in;
❖ home health agencies, home care agencies
❖ assisted living residences
❖ comprehensive personal care homes, assisted living programs,
hospices or alternate family care providers licensed by the New
Jersey Department of Health and Senior Services
Certified Home Health Care Aide Requirements:
Applicants must be 18 years of age, U.S. citizens or qualified legal alien, and have the ability to read, write and speak English proficiently. They must be physically capable of participating in class work such as lifting, getting patients out of bed, giving bed baths, aiding transfers for those with limited mobility, and other patient related care. The NJ Board of Nursing requires that applicants be current on child support obligations, not be in default of student loans, not been convicted on any “Disqualify Crimes”. You will have to pass a criminal background check and be fingerprinted. You must bring your government issued ID and your social security card to register for the class. If you are not a US citizen you must bring in proof of eligibility to work in the USA. A birth certificate is also required for the Board of Nursing application.
The CHHA course consists of 60 hours of class lecture done remotely and 16 hours of training in our on-site skills lab. Once training is complete, students will have the knowledge and skills required by the New Jersey Board of Nursing to become a Certified Home Health Aide.
Open enrollment. We offer a socially
distanced class room with your
safety in mind.
The 76 hour program fee includes: 60 hours lecture and 16 hours clinical
• Course Fee: $399.00
An additional $80 is required to pay for the application with the NJ Board of Nursing. $80 must be paid by credit card or debit card as the Board of Nursing no longer accepts paper applications effective May 1, 2018.
If your Certified Home Health Aide license expired, you are still required to pay the $399 course fee and the $80 application fee to reinstate your license.
Below is taken directly from the NJ Consumer Affairs website;
"Please be advised that starting May 1, 2018, ALL applicants who wish to become a Certified Homemaker-Home Health Aide (CHHA) must apply for initial certification, with the Board of Nursing, ONLINE only. Paper applications for initial certification will no longer be accepted on or after May 1st. Additionally, the Board of Nursing has eliminated the conditional/temporary work certification, so ALL applicants MUST undergo a criminal background check prior to beginning employment as a CHHA."
If you would like to register or have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us at 201-375-8551.